The Trojan Women

October 29 2007

As a present for my sixteenth birthday, my uncle William Toynbee gave me tickets for my Mother and me to see a performance of Gilbert Murray’s translation of The Trojan Women of Euripides. As I write this, on the 11th May, 1951, I am taking out of the row of G. M.’s works in the bookcase, given me by my Mother, in my study at 45 Pembroke Square, the copy of the text that we bought at the theatre, with my name in it in my Mother’s handwriting, dated “25th April, 1905”. That afternoon, I learnt that a Greek play could be conjured back to life.

A Study of History, Vol X, OUP, 1954

Leave a Reply

