Genus Homo

November 7 2012

Hominidae, a family of primates, include four extant genera: chimpanzees and bonobos (Pan), gorillas (Gorilla), humans (Homo) and orangutans (Pongo). Collectively great apes. Extinct genera include (for example) Australopithecus.

The word hominid is also used in the restricted sense of member or species of genus Homo. In this usage, all hominid species other than Homo sapiens are extinct.

Homo habilis

Homo rudolfensis

Homo ergaster

Homo georgicus

Homo erectus

Homo cepranensis

Homo antecessor

Homo heidelbergensis

Homo rhodesiensis

Homo neanderthalensis

Homo sapiens

Homo sapiens idaltu

Archaic Homo sapiens (Cro-magnon)

Homo floresiensis

Approximate chronological order of appearance. But not a linear progression. Some were branches and offshoots, and there was overlapping.

Neanderthals in popular culture.

One Response to “Genus Homo”

  1. davidderrick Says:

    To see chimpanzees, go to a zoo. To see gorillas, go to Rwanda. To see humans, Africa and India are good places. To see orangutans, go to Borneo or Sumatra.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s