Nadine Gordimer

July 14 2014

There were so many ways in which one could admire Gordimer. But “a dressing table of literary devices” is the patronising phrase that came into my mind whenever I tried to read her fiction. I’ll try again.

I had the privilege of meeting her at Davos around 1995 or ’6, when she gave a small dinner in a room at one of the hotels. She was erect, frail, commanding, elegant. When I find the transcript of her remarks (about the state of the world), which I have somewhere, I’ll put them in a comment under this post.

Guardian.

Telegraph.

2 Responses to “Nadine Gordimer”

  1. davidderrick Says:

    Nadine Gordimer and Helen Suzman … there’s gallantry in those names.


Leave a Reply

