II n’y a plus de Pyrénées

November 1 2014

1700-92 and 1814-30.

“II n’y a plus de Pyrénées” was Louis XIV’s [unjustified] comment on the accession of his grandson to the throne of Spain in A.D. 1700 according to Voltaire, Le Siècle de Louis Quatorze, chap. 28.

It’s actually in chapter 26.

A Study of History, Vol IX, OUP, 1954 (footnote)

2 Responses to “II n’y a plus de Pyrénées”

  1. davidderrick Says:

    I saw the ex-King of Spain today in St James’s Street, near Fox’s cigar shop. He is probably staying at the Ritz. He was with a group of elderly gentlemen. All looked as if they had been dressed by Ralph Lauren for the “country”. He hit one of them from behind with his stick to surprise him.

    Last month I found my taxi driver in Cairo (a monarchist and atheist) chatting to a similarly-dapper descendant of King Farouk outside the Four Seasons hotel. I don’t think it was Farouk’s successor briefly-reigning successor Fuad, so who was it? If I meet him again, I will ask him. He told me that he lives in France.

  2. davidderrick Says:

    Friend to me: “That’s what posh dagos do when they get to London. They overdo it.”


Leave a Reply

