The killing

November 17 2015

For some moments of culture and sanity, I went here a day or two after Paris:

My favourite piece of Chopin, because I want a longer argument. The opening (more in some performances) is like being abruptly woken up. Startled into the argument which follows.

Maria João Pires. I agree with the comment on the “plasticity in her phrasing, imaginative approach, control of what she wants to do”. “Not your usual bombastic, jet-propelled mindless virtuoso reading. I love the freer, more contemplative, vividly imaginative approach.”

Andrew Marr recorded this discussion about the French and Zola (and other matters) in Paris for BBC radio a few hours before the crimes. With Anne-Elisabeth Moutet, Agnès DesartheRobert GildeaKarim Miské.

They don’t mention Zola’s La curée, but this is his novel about the destruction of medieval and early modern Paris by Baron Haussmann, the rebuilding which started to push poverty into the banlieues.

Malraux continued the push in the ’60s. Curée has nothing to do with parish priests, but means “killing” and is related to “quarry”.

Marr wondered whether his programme should be aired yesterday, after Paris, but decided that it should.

3 Responses to “The killing”

  1. davidderrick Says:

    B minor, like the Liszt. 1844 and 1853.

  2. davidderrick Says:

    “On Friday night, you took an exceptional life, the love of my life, the mother of my son, but you will not have my hatred. I don’t know who you are and I don’t want to know, you are dead souls. If this God, for whom you kill blindly, made us in his image, every bullet in the body of my wife would have been a wound in his heart.

    So I will not grant you the gift of my hatred. You’re asking for it, but responding to hatred with anger is falling victim to the same ignorance that has made you what you are. You want me to be scared, to view my countrymen with mistrust, to sacrifice my liberty for my security. You lost.

    I saw her this morning. Finally, after nights and days of waiting. She was just as beautiful as when she left on Friday night, just as beautiful as when I fell hopelessly in love over 12 years ago. Of course I am devastated by this pain, I give you this little victory, but the pain will be short-lived. I know that she will be with us every day and that we will find ourselves again in the paradise of free souls to which you will never have access.

    We are just two, my son and me, but we are stronger than all the armies in the world. I don’t have any more time to devote to you, I have to join Melvil who is waking up from his nap. He is barely 17 months old. He will eat his meals as usual, and then we are going to play as usual, and for his whole life this little boy will threaten you by being happy and free. Because no, you will not have his hatred either.”

    Antoine Leiris, Facebook

  3. davidderrick Says:

    It must be said, since I used the word, that what is happening in France and elsewhere in Europe is nothing to do with “poverty”, and everything to do with alienation.


Leave a Reply

